Hero’s

Over the last term we were all set a huge challenge, we were to contact and interview our hero within in the world of photography, in addition to this we were to write an article about them, please read on to my Article, in which, my hero was the one and only Leo Sharp. i hope you enjoy reading it as much as i enjoyed writing it !

Leo sharp: Father, Photographer, Skater . . . is there more? I was about to find out. Over the past few weeks I have had the pleasure to meet and share some time with the great Leo sharp, who’s worked for magazines such as SIDEWALK & DC. His work has been seen the world over, from t-shirts to prints. He’s managed to achieve a combination of his two passions in life, skating and photography, and made an amazing career from it. I was exited to meet him to say the least!

My first impression of Leo was not only that he was passionate about his career and family, but there was much more to him than just a man behind a lens. I learned about how Leo first got into photography, through a bit of luck and undoubtedly a lot of pain when he broke his arm skateboarding. He went on to say, “Instead of watching my friends skate I decided to pick up a camera and find other ways to participate in my sport.”

It was hard work, skill and knowledge of his sport that excelled Leo in his career, which has taken him across the globe, he was pleased to say, “I have worked alongside some of the most talented skaters around, and I have seen them in action”.

As I learnt more about Leo he told me about how he came to work with DC, only one of the leading skate apparel companies in the world! And how he wasn’t the kind of guy who enjoys the life behind a desk, who can blame that right? It wasn’t until after Leo had been working for Sidewalk Magazine, that he left to work in Australia. Although shortly before leaving, he and his partner found out they were going to have a baby. They decided that the familiarities of home were a more suitable place to settle down and have a family. He went on to explain about when DC first approached him, he was fearful he would have been stuck behind a desk, an idea that he had hated so much, but much to Leo’s delight he was there to boost the reputation of the company and to promote the brand through his photography,

 

“ I enjoy the company of skaters they speak my language.”

 

Whilst we carried on I asked Leo, “What part of photographing DC do you find the most interesting?” It wasn’t to obvious to guess that being surrounded by friends doing what you love would be a typical response, but he continued by saying how he loved, “Seeing my work appear on apparel and promoting materials.” I was interested to find out more about the materials DC used for their apparel.

Through the rest of the interview Leo told me about the way in which DC style has incorporated function and fashion, “DC style comes from the need to have clothing that reflects the environment we skate and live in, the clothes and the trainers meet in needs of the terrain”

 

Throughout the interview I became more and more aware that DC’s brand is about the design, making gear that allows the rider to ride whilst improving movement and durability. It’s all about producing materials made to thrash! Leo talked about how, “The brand is about breaking free from the monotonous life, it’s about being dedicated to your passions, that’s how I live my life.”  

If have learnt anything from Leo, it would be to stay true to who you are, your passions and your interests, no matter how many worlds away they might seem. Leo ended our interview by saying, “I can honestly say I am thankful for all the opportunities I have had over the years, and I’m still excited about ones on offer.” If that tells us anything, expect to see more of Leo Sharp.    

About elliotmunns

Fashion photography is my world, a world where we are constantly bombarded, through the media, with imagery of every description. I try to capture the visual excitement that my imagination generates and hope that I can bring a real sense of originality to my work, incorporating classic imagery of the past to develop a new view of fashion that re-invents and pushes the boundaries of fashion imagery. I try to explore our individuality and self expression and use it to open sensory realms in which we feel free to express our selves visually. My passion for fashion photography developed from a young age, seeing and experiencing how clothes bring change in people, how the very act of wearing clothes could make them feel more confident, even more attractive. This is a feeling that everybody wants to have and my purpose as a photographer is to explore that desire. And that’s simply why I am a fashion photographer. Elliot Munns

Leave a comment